Monday, July 22, 2024
No menu items!
HomeNewsPML-N Dominates Distribution of Sunni Ittehad's Reserved Seats

PML-N Dominates Distribution of Sunni Ittehad’s Reserved Seats

Rate this post

Following the Election Commission of Pakistan‘s (ECP) rejection of the Sunni Ittehad Council’s plea for reserved seats, details of the redistributed quota have emerged, with the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) emerging as the primary beneficiary.

The ECP’s verdict firmly denied the Sunni Ittehad Council’s claim to reserved seats for women and minorities. Subsequently, the PML-N secured two minority seats and 19 women’s seats, further solidifying its position in the assembly. The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) also secured seats in both categories.

With the reallocation of these seats, the PML-N’s influence in the provincial assembly has significantly increased. Additionally, Basru Ji from the PPP has joined the assembly, contributing to a more diverse representation.

In the Punjab Assembly, the PML-N now holds the highest number of reserved seats for women, with 57 seats, followed by the PPP with four, the PML-Q with three, and the IPP with two seats.

Furthermore, the ECP has requested the PML-N to submit names for nine more women’s seats in the National Assembly from Punjab by March 9. The nomination papers for reserved seats can be submitted until the same date, with the list of candidates set to be displayed on March 20. Joint Punjab Election Commissioner Abdul Hafeez has been appointed as the returning officer to oversee these processes, ensuring transparency and efficiency.

As these developments unfold, stakeholders remain committed to upholding the democratic process and ensuring diverse representation in the legislative arena.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular