Monday, July 22, 2024
No menu items!
HomeNewsPTI Nominates Dr. Yasmin Rashid as Senate Candidate from Punjab Amidst Upcoming...

PTI Nominates Dr. Yasmin Rashid as Senate Candidate from Punjab Amidst Upcoming Elections

Rate this post

In preparation for the upcoming Senate elections scheduled for April 2, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has announced Dr. Yasmin Rashid as its candidate for the Senate seat from Punjab. This decision was disclosed by PTI leader Mian Aslam Iqbal via the social media platform X (formerly Twitter), confirming Rashid’s nomination for the women’s seat.

Alongside Rashid, PTI has selected Zulfi Bukhari and Hamid Khan as candidates for general seats, while Brigadier (retd) Musadiq will represent the party on a technocrat seat.

Dr. Yasmin Rashid, a prominent figure within PTI, had previously contested for a seat in the National Assembly but was unsuccessful in her bid against Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Nawaz Sharif in Lahore’s NA-130 constituency during the February 8 polls.

Rashid, like several other PTI leaders, has faced legal challenges stemming from her involvement in cases related to the May 9 riots last year, which erupted following the arrest of PTI founder Imran Khan in a corruption case.

With the expiration of the six-year term of incumbent senators on March 12, 52 seats in the upper house of parliament became vacant. However, elections will be conducted for only 48 of these seats, as four reserved seats for the erstwhile Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) were abolished following the 25th Constitutional amendment.

The Senate elections will involve polling for seven general seats, two women’s seats, two seats for technocrats (including Ulema), and one seat for non-Muslims from Sindh and Punjab. Additionally, lawmakers from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) and Balochistan will elect members for seven general seats, two women’s seats, and two seats for technocrats (including Ulema).

Furthermore, members of the National Assembly will elect one general seat and one seat for technocrats (including Ulema) from the federal capital.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has already appointed returning officers (ROs) in Islamabad and the four provinces to oversee the Senate election process.

Meanwhile, by-polls for six Senate seats are currently underway in Sindh, Balochistan, and Islamabad, following the prohibition of dual membership for lawmakers under Article 223 of the Constitution.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular