Monday, July 22, 2024
No menu items!
HomeNewsGovernment Forms Inquiry Commission for TLP's 2017 Faizabad Protest

Government Forms Inquiry Commission for TLP’s 2017 Faizabad Protest

Rate this post

The federal government has recently formed an inquiry commission to delve into the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) 2017 sit-in at Faizabad in Rawalpindi. This move comes after the Attorney General for Pakistan submitted a notification to the Supreme Court, indicating the government’s commitment to address the Faizabad dharna case.

The commission, established under the Inquiry Commission Act, will be chaired by retired inspector general of police (IGP) Akhtar Ali Shah. Its members include former IGP Tahir Alam Khan and Additional Interior Secretary Khushal Khan.

Read More: IMF’s Georgieva says agreement with Pakistan expected after first funding review

The commission’s focus, as outlined in its terms of reference (TOR), spans across 10 points, notably investigating the flow of illegal funds to the TLP and recommending appropriate actions against those found responsible.

This initiative follows the Supreme Court’s allowance for the withdrawal of 12 review petitions against its verdict in the Faizabad dharna case. The government’s commitment to honoring this verdict by setting up the commission signifies a concerted effort to address the issues arising from the 2017 protest.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular